Skip to content

Compare

A simpler BambooHR alternative for small, hourly teams

Employee records, a time clock that records where and from what network each punch came from, and PTO in one app. Keep the payroll you already use.

Comparison last checked October 8, 2026. Every BambooHR fact links to its source. BambooHR is a trademark of its owner. This page names the product and does not use its logo.

Why small teams look for a BambooHR alternative

A flat floor for small teams

BambooHR charges companies with 25 or fewer employees a flat monthly rate: $250 a month for Core, $425 for Pro, and $650 for Elite. BambooHR pricing, checked October 8, 2026.

Our math, not a BambooHR per-person price: for a 10-person team, Core is $25 per person per month ($250 divided by 10).

Time tracking costs extra

BambooHR’s time tracking page says time tracking is an add-on for an additional cost. BambooHR time tracking, checked October 8, 2026. The pricing page lists Time & Attendance under add-on solutions and does not publish a price.

What Peer Roll is

Peer Roll is HR software for small US employers, especially teams with hourly, multi-site, or field staff. It keeps the employee record, the time clock, and PTO in one place, and hands approved hours to the payroll you already use.

Said once: Peer Roll is not a payroll or tax engine, a benefits carrier platform, a full recruiting suite, or a talent or compensation-planning platform. The pricing page lists those limits on purpose.

Peer Roll vs BambooHR at a glance

Last checked October 8, 2026. Words instead of checkmarks: Included, Add-on, or Not offered. Scroll sideways on a small screen to read every column.

Peer Roll compared with BambooHR. Last checked October 8, 2026.
FeaturePeer RollBambooHRSource
People
Employee records / directoryYes. One employee record with job, site, manager, and status.Yes. Included in Core.Peer Roll people directory. BambooHR pricing page.
Time
Time clock (web and phone)Included in the core product.Paid add-on (Time & Attendance). Price not published.Peer Roll pricing and time clock pages. BambooHR pricing and time tracking pages.
Location on each punchYes, when the device provides it.Yes. Geolocation in the mobile app, inside the time-tracking add-on.Peer Roll time clock page. BambooHR time tracking page.
Overtime calculationsPeer Roll doesn't calculate overtime; it sends total worked hours and approved time off to your payroll.Yes. Automatic overtime calculations for all 50 US states, in the Time & Attendance add-on.Peer Roll. BambooHR time tracking page.
Shift schedulingNo shift scheduling. There's one company start time.Yes. Shift scheduling is in the Time & Attendance add-on.Peer Roll. BambooHR pricing page.
Missing punchesYes, via the Daily punches report with CSV export. Managers see their team, HR sees everyone, and only HR corrects punches.—Peer Roll. BambooHR is not stated in this row.
Attendance pointsYes. HR edits the policy and excuses or adjusts points. Employees never see points.—Peer Roll. BambooHR is not stated in this row.
Time off
PTO requests, approvals, and balancesYes.Yes. Included in Core.Peer Roll PTO page. BambooHR pricing page.
Team time-off calendarYes. A shared calendar of approved leave.Yes. Included in Core.Peer Roll PTO calendar page. BambooHR pricing page.
HolidaysA holiday calendar with federal holidays pre-loaded. No holiday pay.—Peer Roll. BambooHR is not stated in this row.
Documents and hiring
E-sign onboarding packetsYes. Templates, an in-app signature, and status on the file.E-signatures and a new-hire packet. Included in Core.Peer Roll e-sign packets page. BambooHR pricing page.
Onboarding checklistsYes. Task checklists with owners and reminders.Onboarding checklist. Included in Core.Peer Roll onboarding pages. BambooHR pricing page.
Applicant trackingLight: job openings and a pipeline.Yes. 5, 25, or 50 job openings by plan, plus job-board posting.Peer Roll hiring page. BambooHR pricing page.
I-9, E-Verify, and W-4 statusA tracker of I-9, E-Verify, and W-4 status, with HR-only files. It is not electronic I-9 filing and has no E-Verify connection.—Peer Roll. BambooHR is not stated in this row.
Other
Goals and reviewsGoals and simple reviews on the employee file.Performance management, including 360 reviews, 1:1s, and goal tracking, on Pro and above.Peer Roll performance page. BambooHR pricing page.
Reports28 named reports plus custom and scheduled reports, including an EEO-1 summary.Standard and custom reports. Custom report builder included in Core.Peer Roll. BambooHR pricing page.
Who can see payOnly HR admins can see anyone's pay. Managers never see their team's pay, and employees see only their own current pay rate. Pay history stays with HR.—Peer Roll. BambooHR is not stated in this row.
Audit logSensitive actions like pay changes, terminations and sign-in tokens are recorded with who and when.—Peer Roll. BambooHR is not stated in this row.
Role-based accessYes. Separate roles for operators, managers, and employees.“Secure Sharing & Permissions” is listed on Elite, under dashboards. The pricing page we checked does not describe permissions on Core or Pro.Peer Roll access page. BambooHR pricing page.
MobileInstallable web app. There is no app-store app.Native mobile app.Peer Roll installable-app page. BambooHR time tracking page.
PayrollNot included. Exports approved hours and approved PTO as a CSV.Paid add-on, with direct deposit and tax filing.Peer Roll payroll handoff page. BambooHR pricing page.
BenefitsLight tracking: plan names and enrollments on the employee file.Benefits tracking in Core. Benefits Administration is an add-on.Peer Roll benefits page. BambooHR pricing page.
Compensation planningNot offered. Peer Roll is not a talent or compensation-planning platform.Yes, on Elite.Peer Roll pricing page, “not included”. BambooHR pricing page.
Price, 25 or fewer employees30-day free trial, no credit card needed. Then $4 per active person per month. The time clock is included.Flat $250 / $425 / $650 per month (Core / Pro / Elite).BambooHR pricing page. Peer Roll pricing page.
Price, 26 or more employees30-day free trial, no credit card needed. Then $4 per active person per month. The time clock is included.Pricing FAQ: from $10.25 / $17.50 / $25 per employee per month. Plan cards on the same page show $10 / $17 / $25. Volume discounts apply.BambooHR pricing page. Peer Roll pricing page.

BambooHR sources: pricing and time tracking, both checked October 8, 2026. Peer Roll rows link to people, time, PTO, the PTO calendar, e-sign packets, hiring, payroll handoff, access, and the installable app.

Where BambooHR is the better choice

  • You want payroll, tax filing, and benefits enrollment from the same vendor.

    BambooHR sells Payroll (direct deposit, federal and state tax filing) and Benefits Administration (open enrollment, carrier connections) as add-ons. Pricing page, checked October 8, 2026.

  • You need advanced time features.

    Shift scheduling, meal and rest break tracking, automatic overtime calculations for all 50 US states, an iPad kiosk, and hardware time clocks (badge, fingerprint, facial recognition) are in BambooHR’s Time & Attendance add-on. Pricing and time tracking, checked October 8, 2026. Peer Roll doesn't calculate overtime; it sends total worked hours and approved time off to your payroll. There's no shift scheduling. There's one company start time.

  • You want a deep performance, compensation, or engagement suite.

    Depending on plan, BambooHR includes 360 reviews, compensation planning, salary benchmarking, eNPS, recognition and rewards, and compliance training libraries. Pricing page, checked October 8, 2026.

  • You rely on many integrations.

    BambooHR says it has over 150 integration partners. Pricing FAQ, checked October 8, 2026.

  • You want a native mobile app.

    BambooHR has a mobile app with time tracking and geolocation. Time tracking page, checked October 8, 2026. Peer Roll is an installable web app, not an app-store app.

Where Peer Roll may fit better

  • The time clock is included.

    It is part of the core product, not an add-on. Plans do not unlock the clock, hours handoff, custom reports, or e-sign packets as an add-on. See the time clock and pricing.

  • Pay stays with HR.

    Only HR admins can see anyone's pay. Managers never see their team's pay, and employees see only their own current pay rate. Pay history stays with HR.

  • Each punch carries evidence.

    Time, device, source IP, and location when the device provides it. A worksite match or off-site flag goes to the manager.

  • One app for the weekly jobs.

    Records, the clock, PTO, e-sign onboarding packets, and offboarding checklists.

  • Works with the payroll you already have.

    Approved hours and approved PTO export as a CSV. Payroll hours handoff.

  • Built for phones.

    Employees clock in, request time off, and see their info from an installable web app.

Switching from BambooHR

Switching from BambooHR? Talk to us about what can come over.

BambooHR publishes custom reports. BambooHR custom reports, checked October 8, 2026.

Keep your payroll provider. Peer Roll sends approved hours and approved PTO out as a CSV. It does not replace the payroll system you already run.

Security and trust

Peer Roll does not claim SOC 2 or ISO 27001. The product uses role-based access. Sensitive actions like pay changes, terminations and sign-in tokens are recorded with who and when. E-sign packets keep status on the file. Data in transit uses TLS. Read the security page for the wording we will stand behind.

Pricing

30-day free trial, no credit card needed. Then $4 per active person per month. The time clock is included. Prices subject to change after the first 12 months with 30 days' notice.

For comparison, BambooHR publishes the prices in the table above. Companies with 25 or fewer employees pay a flat monthly rate. For 26 or more, the pricing FAQ says plans start at $10.25, $17.50, and $25 per employee per month, while the plan cards show $10, $17, and $25. BambooHR also offers month-to-month or an extended term. BambooHR pricing, checked October 8, 2026.

Questions

See if Peer Roll fits your team.

30-day free trial, no credit card needed. Then $4 per active person per month. The time clock is included.